Everybody’s Smiling

For the moment it is spring in my town.  While the weather forecast for tomorrow looks grim with snow and cold temperatures, today is promising to be sunny and warm and I am perfectly content with that.

Because I am in my third year at school I am helping to lead a small group with one of my classmates for some of the first year students.  Today we had a meeting and it was quite unique.  I could definitely tell that it was spring because “love was in the air”.  We talked about boys and relationships and no one could really stop smiling.  To be honest, it was nice to see a little bit into the hearts of these beautiful women and the joy that they have inside.  Even though it seems silly and “girly” I am reminded in all of this of the beauty of life and the great gift that the Lord has given us.  We are truly blessed.

I am writing not mostly about the relational dynamics between boys and girls, but between the human heart and the heart of God.  I so easily take for granted the fact that I have a constant Companion who is involved with every one of my conversations, every one of my thoughts, every one of my feelings and every word that I say.  He is always there and always happy to be a part of my life.

I’m not sure how many people there are that can really say that they have a true, close friendship with the Lord but what I DO know that it is forefront on my mind and ever in my heart.  I know that the Lord desires friendship with every person and I want to be one of the ones that says yes to him.  Psalm 25:14 says, “The friendship (or some translations say secret counsel) of the Lord is for those who fear Him, and He makes known to them His covenant.” The fear of the Lord isn’t just about being scared of God, it it having living understanding of who He is.  That’s what I want.  I want to know Him not just in a cerebral way, but with my heart.  I want to know Him like He knows me.

So my relationship comment on this day when everyone seems to be in love is that I love Jesus.  That may sound simple and may sound cliche but it is the truth that I want to always resonate in my heart, regardless of the weather outside.

3 responses to “Everybody’s Smiling

  1. It’s so awesome to be content with friendship and love in the Lord! It’s the BEST place to be.

    Have a great weekend.

  2. I love you Lissa! You have such an amazing heart, and I don’t think I can express how blessed I am to have you as my sister. I look up to you in so many ways!

  3. I smiled when I read this. (: thank you, sister.

Leave a comment